Big News of Awesomeness

April 19, 2011 at 12:12 am (Fiction) (, , , )

I’ve been bouncing around the idea of turning my short story “The Carnival” into a novel for a while now (I’d usually link to it here, but I’m posting from my phone. It’s the Future now!). The final push I needed came the other day and now I have actually started going through the text, seeing places where I can expand the story, add characters, get into their minds, dive into backstory, etc.

My biggest question for myself had been, “How do I actually physically go about this? Do I open the file and just start adding to it?” After a long time of talking out loud to my sounding board (a drowsy cat), I realized I was focusing too much on trying to keep the polished work from the original in the first draft of the new work. I just need to start telling the story and THEN worry about, “Did I get that one really poetic description in there?” Write a crappy first draft just to get the story down, then polish.

Now that I’ve got that mental struggle figured out, I guess it’s just time to start writing this baby. No excuses now. All I ask is that you all, my Constant Readers, help keep me on track. I’ll do my best to post some of what I’m writing here, but if you think too much time has passed between talking about it, call me out. Let me know you want updates. I’m going to be setting some deadlines for myself, but if I also know I have an expectant audience, I’ll work harder not to let you down.

Wish me luck!

3 Comments

  1. Eric Lester said,

    I’m glad to hear this, and will be looking forward to the book. The story of Isambard and Outis has stayed in the back of my mind for a few years now. I think it has, as they say, legs.

    • lemonbar77 said,

      Hey, it was your comment the other day that served as the final push I needed. So thank you!

  2. Jason said,

    Annie Dillard has re-worked ‘The Living’ in 3 different ways. A short story, then a novel…and then, finally, an all new short story. Read her if you get a chance. Anything of hers. Find her, befriend her.

Leave a Reply

